menu close menu

My Gluten-Free Journey (Pt. 3)

Good evening everyone! In between the last time we talked, I made a video on how to make gluten-free pizza you can check it out on the CASS Fitness Facebook page. Now some of you left me comments about my gluten-free bread article. Some of you said Isaac, you’re not being fair to gluten-free bread. It’s not that bad. You might not know how to prepare it.

 

So in light of these comments, I tried gluten-free bread again. It was still disgusting! So people please spare me your alternative facts on gluten-free bread. Since we got that out the way, today I’m going to talk to you about some foods that have gluten in them that you might or might not have thought about. Here is a list of foods and oils that are not gluten-free.

Vega Sport

 

  • Blue cheese,
  • Bouillon cubes,
  • Broths,
  • Brown rice syrup (if barley malt enzyme),
  • Buckwheat flour and soba noodles (if combined with wheat),
  • Caramel coloring (made from barley malt enzymes]Coatings,
  • Colorings, 
  • Condiments,
  • Dextrins,
  • Dispersing agents (i.e., cellulose, citric acid),
  • Emulsifiers,
  • Excipients (added to prescription medications to achieve desired consistency),
  • Extracts (in grain alcohol)
  • Fillers
  • Flavorings (in grain alcohol)
  • Flours,
  • Breads,
  • Cereals,
  • Crackers,
  • Pasta,
  • Sauces and condiments made with the primary gluten source grains or their derivatives
  • Grain alcohol (beer, ale, rye, scotch, bourbon, grain vodka)
  • Homeopathic remedies
  • Hydrolyzed protein, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), hydrolyzed
  • vegetable protein (HVP)
  • Malt or malt flavoring (barley malt)
  • Miso
  • Modified starch, modified food starch (when derived from wheat)
  • Mono-and diglycerides (made using a wheat-starch carrier)
    Oils (wheat germ oil and any oil with gluten additives)
  • Preservatives
  • Soy sauce (when fermented using wheat)
  • Spices (if contain anti-caking ingredients)
  • Starch (if primary source is gluten-containing grains)
  • Vegetable gum (when made from oats)
  • Vegetable protein (some times)
  • Vinegars (malt or malt flavored)
    and Vitamin E oil. When you read this list you shouldn’t feel depressed or discouraged.

 




 
This list is to encourage you to read labels and gather as much information as you can to better understand what you’re putting in your body. If you struggle like most people do to gather information about the food you eating, there are people such as myself who study nutrition, who are professionally “fat” (in shape people who likes to eat) , andwho are willing to help you. Next time we’re gonna talk about how green pepper, red pepper and yellow pepper make food prep easy.

Isaac Spence
February 17, 2017 | Children's Fitness, General, Health, Isaac Spence's Articles, Nutrition Articles | 0

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get fresh, new content delivered to you!

Continue your healthy lifestyle journey with our latest tips on weight loss, strength gains, corrective exercise, and more!

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.